Buy all 11 of Mark’s CDs for $90, any 5 for $50, or any 3 for $35!

Midnight Mood

The essence of the romantic saxophone…lush and beautiful.

Add the Midnight Mood CD to your shopping cart Add the Midnight Mood mp3s to your shopping cart

1 Star2 Stars3 Stars4 Stars5 Stars (12 votes, average: 4.92 out of 5)


The perfect music for dinner and a glass of wine, in the hot tub, etc.  Great standards played with beauty and love.

Buy individual mp3s (click song to hear samples) Price Buy
1. Misty $1
2. Someday My Prince Will Come $1
3. My One And Only Love $1
4. Body And Soul $1
5. In A Mellotone $1
6. Stardust $1
7. My Funny Valentine $1
8. Skylark $1
9. Midnight Mood $1
View cart and check out

When I first started composing and selling my CDs, I was all about doing my original music. But as a saxophone player I had been playing standards my whole life, songs from the 30s and 40s, the greatest songs (some would argue) from the 20th century. So when my buddy, Paul Reeder, suggested that I do a CD of standards, it seemed obvious, and thus was born Midnight Mood. For the songlist I relied on those tunes that were totally familiar to me: Misty, Body & Soul, Stardust, Someday My Prince Will Come, tunes I had been playing at jazz gigs my whole life.

Stylistically, we went for that “red wine with dinner” feel – spacious, relaxed – and heavy on the romance, lots of that breathy, sensuous sax sound. The sound of red velvet if you will.

This group of musicians are a group of friends that I had been doing gigs around L.A. with, all excellent, versatile, seasoned, creative players, not afraid to let the romance flow through them, but also willing to subjugate the ego to the vibe. I think you’ll hear what I mean.

Mark Maxwell – saxophones
Doug Mathews – drums
Chris Sidwell – bass
Sanjay Divecha – guitar
Bobby Zee – piano
David Scott – piano

Get cozy on this one, folks. This is the stuff.  Enjoy!